Club Handicap Challenge

Monday 8 September saw the club’s annual 5km handicap challenge play out round the streets of Braishfield.

Throughout the summer, members of the club ran in one or more of three separate 5km time trials to set the best time they can.  Using these results the club’s session leaders  set a handicap time for each individual that they are then challenged to try and beat.  The runner who beats their handicap by the greatest margin lifts the coveted trophy.

This year saw 33 members toe the start line with only 11 managing to beat the handicap.  Well done to everybody who took part, but the all important results are…

Jo Weguelin came in 3rd with a time gap of 27 seconds, narrowly pipped to 2nd by Tony Peelo with a time gap of 28 seconds.  But our winner on the night, and this years club champion, was Haly Nomm in a time of 00:24:30 and most importantly 39 seconds below her handicap time.


1st Haly Nomm -39 seconds
2nd Tony Peelo -28 seconds
3rd Jo Weguelin -27 seconds
4th Sarah Humphries -23 seconds
5th Daniel Lurcock -22 seconds
6th Julie Shanka -20 seconds
7th Wayne Windebank -17 seconds
8th Paul Burnage -15 seconds
9th Rebecca Marriner -14 seconds
10th Derek Kelly -14 seconds
11th Karen Mason -11 seconds